The Rabbit’s Gift

Coming in the fall of 2022 from Greenwillow/HarperCollins . . .

When the delicate balance is broken between the people of a small country and the mythical rabbits of old, a rabbit and a young girl must learn to trust each other. A standalone companion to The Wolf’s Curse, The Rabbit’s Gift is a vivid and inventive novel inspired by French folklore set in a country in which babies are grown in cabbage-like plants called Chou . . . and delivered by rabbits. 

Fleurine, a twelve-year-old aspiring botanist and daughter of the Grand Lumière, secretly tries to grow the elusive purple carrots that humans trade for Chou. She longs for a sibling, but Maman doesn’t want another child. What’s more, she believes science will upset the natural order and insists that Fleurine follow in her political footsteps.

Meanwhile, the human demand for babies has dropped, and the rabbits are starving. A runt named Quincy decides to take matters into his own paws and sets out for the city, determined to prove that you don’t have to be big to be a hero.

When he inadvertently leads Fleurine back to the top-secret Warren, he sets off a string of events that pits them against each other and jeopardizes the future of the entire country––for rabbits and humans alike.

A blend of STEM and magic told in a in a lyrical dual point-of-view, The Rabbit’s Gift is perfect for fans of Katherine Applegate, Gail Carson Levine, and Anne Ursu.

I acknowledge the support of the Canada Council for the Arts in the writing and polishing of book two. To learn more about their work, visit http://www.canadacouncil.ca